European & African
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • EADD Moderators: axe battler

Buying codeine OTC

Survival0200

Bluelighter
Just wanted to ask other people's input towards buying codeine OTC (on countries where it's available).

I feel really guilty every time I go buying it -- you guys feel the same? :ROFLMAO:

And when I go buying it I never buy *just* the codeine -- I have to buy something else at the same time, so it wouldn't seem like I'm just after the codeine.

Like: "Hi! I'd like to have a bottle of Listerine. Yeah, thanks! ... By the way, do you have those codeine pills? I could take those too."

Do you have to go to different pharmacies, because they get to know you? ("That's that codeine guy again. He always buys codeine.")

I don't know where you live, but in the UK there's no need to feel guilty as low dose codeine formulations are a perfectly legal over the counter analgesic.

Tbh, if I was a pharmacist, your approach would set alarm bells ringing. Asking for a bottle of Listerine and then as an afterthought "oh yeh, a fuckton of codeine as well".

Just walk straight up to the counter bold as brass and say "a packet of generic co-codamol please". You'll get the standard questions "are they for yourself?", "have you used them before?" and "don't take for more than three days". Job done. Asking for other stuff first seems suspicious. If you need analgesia then you're not going to ask for Listerine first. Plus it's an unnecessary expense.

You definitely need to rotate pharmacies though as regular purchases will get noticed. My friend's wife was refused service from every pharmacy in town and had to resort to paying people to buy them for her. She eventually died from multiple organ failure as she was taking a full packet of 32 every day without extracting the paracetamol.