• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos Benzos overdose and potential brain damage.

GM valed

Greenlighter
So first of all i am an amateur in regards of benzos and i overdosed on 16mg flunitrazepam and 10mg alprazolam.Since then i have noticed a decline in my focus and brain efficiency.Is it possible to cause permanent brain damage that way?

How long ago was that? If it was just a few days you still have some benzos and their active metabolites in your blood which can easily explain your problems since you are still a bit under the influence (even if you don't feel high anymore)..... if it was a long time ago that shouldn't be an issue...

Acute benzo ods aren't supposed to cause lasting damage (unless you stopped breathing and your brain was deprived from oxygen for more than a few minutes in which case there probably is some lasting damage.... but that shouldn't happen from benzos alone (again there's a huge variability here so it's not impossible that some people) so you should be back to normal eventually, but there's a huge amount of variability from person to person in this with some people can take a very long time and some are back to normal in a few days (both are outliers especially when talking about one time use and the debate about lasting damage from long term benzo use isn't really settled with some saying it's completely reversible given enough time (which can be years) and others saying that some of the damage is permanent (and I bet there's a lot of variability here too)).