Any chemists available?

Nools

Greenlighter
Hi, I'm Nools. I am currently an undergraduate student studying biology and I'm in my final year. I have been given the most bizarre assignment, for a biologist anyway, and I'm having real problems understanding it. My Professor is not being much help so I hoped I could ask some questions here or at least get some tips for where to start!

My brief is an impossible task, I think anyway. I have to alter the Digoxin molecule to try and improve it, the problem is I'm a biologist, not a chemist and I have no clue where to even start! Not only that but Digoxin has been around since the 1800s or before and I'm sure is already as perfect as it's going to get. We've been told to use molview and swissadme to alter the drug and I've read a few papers so far, so i understand that it works on a receptor outside the cell, the sodium ion transmembrane protein. It builds up calcium in the cell causing a positive inotropic effect. I understand that its therapeutic index is narrow and the chance for digoxin toxicity is high. I'd like to try to alter it to lower the toxicity but I'm sure if that could be done it would have been. I somehow have to change the molecule to get a slightly different response and justify my decisions.

Please does anyone have any advice they could give or know anything about Digoxin?

I hope this is posted in the right place, my apologies if not. Thanks in advance!

Nools :).

the main target is believed to be Na+/K+ ATPase which is an ion pump but there is clearly another pharmacologically important target. Changing the sugar linkage for another heterocycle gives things which are more potent at the ATPase but not more potent overall. Digitoxin is an allosteric inhibitor.