• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

About Tramadol and SERT Values.

Nah I was just curious. I took tramadol for nearly 10 years and it had a great affect on my depression that was unmatched my many other drugs. After I was no longer able to get it, I tried Effexor thinking it would feel similar to tramadol, but it didn't. It actually made me feel sick and dysphoric and even manic at times. So there must be something special about tramadol that Effexor is lacking. I would say the opioid part, but I also take buprenorphine and have used tramadol ontop of it with still some effect.

Of course, I am too ignorant to pull off any chemistry conversion if there were one. lol But I know many other drugs can be turned into something else just by mixing it with certain things. I enjoy learning about pharmacodynamics & pharmacology though and bits of chemistry when I can understand it. So I was just generally curious.
I wish I worked in a lab. :p :p :p
Cheers MsDiz! :)
Yeah it’s a shame Effexor didn’t work for you.

Tramadol is so useful for some people and I think if it were used more wisely with a proper dosing regime and tolerance breaks that it would be a lifesaver for many.

Yeah it’s a shame Effexor didn’t work for you.

Tramadol is so useful for some people and I think if it were used more wisely with a proper dosing regime and tolerance breaks that it would be a lifesaver for many.
I completely agree!

I'd say buprenorphine is on par with tramadol with it's antidepressant effect. Though, I think tramadol is still better for my situation.
I find it amazing how close in structure and what not a drug can be to another drug and how they can have such widely drastic different effects.
It's also a bit irritating knowing a drug is close to another one but there's nothing you can do about it! :p haha

Would it be possible to convert venlafaxine into tramadol through some sort of chemistry?