• MDMA &
    Empathogenic
    Drugs

Welcome Guest!
  • MDMA Moderators:

4-Fluoroamphetamine (4-FA) - Safety?

Psychestim

Bluelighter
Hi, I'm new to Bluelight and have not come across a 4-FA thread so I thought I'd make one.

I've tried 4-FA once in 2018 on a vacation in Amsterdam and absolutely loved it, which is why I procured half a gram of it to give it another shot (UHPLC-DAD-MS analysis confirmed: 985mg/g 4-FA HCl). I have come across a lot of studies and reports concerning 4-FA's potential health risks and I wondered what you guys think of it? Some harm reduction organizations, especially from NL, have issued many warnings regarding cerebral hemmorhages and strokes associated with the use of 4-FA and they made it out to be a really risky substance to use. But because these warnings are a couple of years old at this point, I messaged ChEckiT! (an Austrian drug-checking organization) and asked them if they had any new insights or information regarding 4-FA's safety profile and/or these extreme cases.

In short, they told me the following (written in my own words):
1. 4-FA was only scarcely studied in humans, but it seems to be a variable compound among certain, susceptible individuals. What might be a mild dose for some could be an overdose for somebody else. This is likely the reason why some of these tragic reactions occured in people that only consumed moderate amounts of 4-FA. People with cardiological problems (e.g. hypertension) or a family history of heart-related issues are at a greater risk of suffering from these negative consequences (which seems plausible to me, but that applies to most stimulants I imagine).