• TDS Moderators: AlphaMethylPhenyl | Eligiu | deficiT

Help with sleep after kicking multiple habits

kevo1243

Greenlighter
Hello, I have been dropping my addictions/bad habits since the beginning of the year, and I have not been able to get a solid nights sleep. Now I have some experience so the typical answers might not work here. Here is my background: 3 weeks ago I quit a kratom & dip tobacco habit. I have using kratom basically non stop for about five years, and my current usage was 6g 2x a day & I had been using tobacco for basically 12 years non stop, and my habit had been really severe recently, like a dip in my mouth any chance I got. On top of this, I was smoking pot every day and just quit a few days ago.

For sleep so far I have used melatonin, zzzquil, valerian root and even edibles. The problem I am having I think is related to how I kicked these habits. I have been exercising, eating healthy, & drinking a lot of water. I am also in the middle of a physical therapy type program to fix an injury, so I am all-around feeling pretty damn good physically.

Now when I sleep, no matter what combo from above I try, I always seem to wake up multiple times throughout the night and a lot of times I'll wake up after 4-6 hours, lay awake a couple hours, then I am able to fall asleep again. At first I thought this was caused to drinking too much water & needing to pee but I have adjusted my routine to this and while I do need to pee when I wake up, it is not necessary. It is almost like my brain/body is so used to not sleep 6+ hours straight it doesn't know how to.

One more thing to add is I have stuggled with addiction for the last 12 years. About 7 years I went to rehab, got healthy, got my sleep on track, etc. but beside maybe a 3 month period, I am not sure I really slept sober very often.

Any advice, supplements, comments are welcome. Thanks.