Bluelight

Thread: Interview-based study on sex and drugs (University of London)

1. Collapse Details
    Interview-based study on sex and drugs (University of London) 
    Hello Bluelighters,

My name is Ben Mechen and I am a researcher with a project funded by the Wellcome Trust and based at Royal Holloway, University of London. The project is called 'Pharmacosexuality: The Past, Present and Future of Sex on Drugs'. Our website is here. Please take a look!

At its core, the project is interested in how and why people use psychoactive drugs to enhance, or in some cases curb, sexual performance, function, pleasure and desires.

We are currently recruiting for interviews with people of all genders who have had sex while on drugs, or who have taken drugs while in sexual contexts. We are interested in speaking to people who combine sex and drugs proactively or with planning, and those who combine them more accidentally or spontaneously. For the purposes of this study, we are particularly interested in drugs other than alcohol and tobacco.

The interview includes questions on things like:

? Your motivations for using drugs in sexual contexts
    ? The types of drugs used and ways in which they are consumed for sex
    ? How pleasure (and other feelings) can be experienced through ?drugged sex?
    ? The extent to which drugs can change or transform sexual encounters

Our project is based in London and we are conducting in-person interviews there. However, we are also conducting interviews via Skype with people elsewhere in the UK and around the world. If you are interested in talking to us, please get in touch! I can be contacted at [email protected].

Interviews generally last about an hour and we are paying interviewees ?10 GBP for their time.

The other members of the project are Alex Dymock and Leah Moyle. They will also be conducting interviews.