• TDS Moderators: AlphaMethylPhenyl | Eligiu | deficiT

I can't quit dope

Pillsbury_Dope_Boy

Bluelighter
I've been using IV heroin for 8+ years (on and off). I always lived in America, but I had family overseas and a wife overseas as well (we were waiting for her US visa to process), and every time I started using heavily, my parents would just send me out of the country for a while (heroin in not sold on the street there).

I have been back and fourth between America and overseas many times in the last 8 years. I have been back and fourth so often that I have not been able to get a college degree or have a stable career. Last year, my wife had had enough of my drug-addicted bullshit and decided to leave me. She was gone for 8 months. During this time, I had sunk into a deep depression and I was convinced that if she ever came back, I would never be so stupid as to start doing drugs again.

A few months ago, my wife's US visa finally finishes processing and she decides to come back to me. The only problem was that she would be living in America now, in my home city, and it is very easy for me to get dope there. But obviously, after all the suffering and self-hatred I experienced when she was gone, I wouldn't be stupid enough to go back to using, right? Wrong!