Writing-up Have you ever taken mephedrone?

NewDrugsResearch

Bluelighter
Hi,

My name is Zoe Davey and I am a PhD student from King’s College London. I am carrying out a research study to find out why people decide to use mephedrone, how people use mephedrone, their positive and negative experiences of mephedrone use, and how this changes over time.

If you are aged 18 or over and have tried mephedrone (aka 4-methylmethcathinone, mcat,drone, bubble, meow-meow), even if it was only once, then it would be great if you could take part in a short online survey. It should take no more than 30 minutes to complete. All of your answers will be anonymous and confidential.

Follow the link below for more information and to access the survey.

https://kings.onlinesurveys.ac.uk/mephedrone-survey-1

The survey will be open from 24 March 2015 to 30 June 2015. This study has received ethics approval from King’s College London, Psychiatry Nursing and Midwifery Research Ethics Subcommittee (PNM/13/14-27).

If you would like further information about the study please let me know or you can contact me by email ([email protected]) or PM.

Thanks

Zoe

Please get behind this survey if you are eligible. Zoe has kindly donated to Bluelight (thanks, Zoe!) and we are supporting this project with site wide promotion. We have also done some piloting work on the questionnaire (thanks to the Bluelight moderator team), much of which Zoe has taken on board.

The case of mephedrone is an important one to understand, as it is one of the few novel substances that has developed into its own market after it became illegal, at least in the UK. This project is certainly the most detailed I have seen on the topic.

If you have any concerns or comments on this project, please place them here.

As Zoe is due to go on maternity leave very soon, there may be some delay in responding - for very good reason! :)