• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

toxic sulfur metabolite in Methiopropamine?

fridgebuzz

Bluelighter
Don't usually see many sulfurs in drugs. Once this molecule begins breaking down inside the body, what becomes of it?

200px-Methiopropamine.svg.png

Probably:
URVQD.png

Thiophenylacetone will be nasty, I guarantee it.

I don't see anything else obvious, maybe ring opening or epoxidation. I'm not an expert on metabolism. And even M1 (1-(thiophen-2-yl)propan-2-amine) is absent from the literature. "Research Chemicals"...

Sekio, could you link me to any good reading on drug metabolism? Sorry if this is the wrong place. I'm intensely interested in toxic metabolites after seeing this sulfur, and a fluorine appear in another substance.

My advice; learn organic chemistry and study the metabolic pathways of comparable drugs. Eventually you can extrapolate metabolism pathways based on certain structural features.
Reading the literature helps a lot too.

The mere presence of sulfur or fluorine is not damning in a chemical compound. What's bad in general are things that are toxic because of their reactive nature or things that are toxic because of their negative interaction with bodily functions. For instance 4-MTA is considered "bad" not because of the sulfur but because it is both a powerful monoamine releaser and a MAOI. Another example is why the 2c-* series with halogens in them are not "toxic" the same way the 4-haloamphetamines are - the amphetamines are strong monoamine releasers and the 2c's are not.

If you are concerned about simple aromatic fluorination, e.g. 4-fluoroamphetamine, generally those substitutions will block metabolism at best. The only practical way you can release the fluorine off the ring is with fire.

The main metabolite detected in urine in the N-demethylated metabolite nor-MPA,

showing that methiopropamine is only metabolized to a minor extent. The metabolism