• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Music to listen to while studying --- What do you listen to?

bbx4

Bluelighter
I like to listen to music when I study, but I find music with lyrics to be distracting so I tend to listen to psy-trance but sometimes that can get a little intense if I'm just relaxing and going over notes. I will listen to Shpongle and Prometheus quiet a bit, sometimes Ott if I'm in the mood.

What do you listen to while studying? Feel free to list recommendations.

When I was a student, it was usually electronic on the ambient side or classical.

Classical - favorites: Chopin, Berlioz, Richard Wagner (basically Romantics)
Ambient - favorites: Brian Eno, Phillip Glass
Rock - favorites: Blonde Redhead, Explosions in the Sky, Mogwai, Sigur Ros

If you're me, converge, venetian snares, autechre, etc. :D
Just the same stuff I usually listen to.

ebola

Galaxie Chill Out

Basically ambient and downtempo. It's one of the only things I'll miss when I get rid of cable.

I agree that lyrics are distracting. I like to listen to stuff with nice textures, song structures that are more like classical than rock music, and stuff that doesn't have peaks that are too extreme.

So it's usually stuff like Sigur Ros (except Takk), Miles Davis style jazz, etc. These are the only things that keep me sane whilst marking assignments.

studying and music i can't do it... i gotta get in the zone and jusut be in a quiet enviro... but bassnectar is okay lol.

i usually just put my collection on shuffle and keep the volume lower than usual.

Psytrance, I find, is hands down the best music for getting into a state of mind conducive to encoding memories. It's the only music that is guaranteed to put me in a good headspace to learn, no matter what I'm feeling like before that.