• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

getting stabbing pains from quick drinking anyone else?

fluxy

Bluelighter
This has happened a number of times since i was 17, but recently it happens 50% of the time if i say, skull 2 standard drinks or more. Its a twisting sharp pain in my guts, feels like liver or stomach but im no doctor he he. If i SLOWLY drink the first 2 drinks over 20 mins or so, it doesnt ever happen. I dont have Hep c as far as i know, but would like to know if other people get this and what it might be.

thanks for your replies

That isn't a lot of information to go on, but it doesn't sound good. It could be something as minor as gas, or it could be something a lot worse.

Does it ever happen when you haven't been drinking alcohol?

It's probably the alcohol burning your esophagus and stomach? I get it as well when I drink down a majority of a vodka and cranberry in one big gulp.

Has heartburn been an issue for you? I mean on a weekly basis (ie. a few days a week). B/C sometimes this happens to me and I started taking nexium and it doesn't happen anymore.

Where is the pain?
Do you have it when you don't drink?
I get a sharp stabbing pain right in the middle under my ribs-
this was my first sign of an ulcer.

But it could be a number of things-this is just my experience........
Check with your Dr.

Pancreas, liver, gall bladder, ulcer, and gastritis are all possibilities. I'd say to abstain or drink moderately until you have some idea as to the cause. Stabbing pain is an indicator that something is really wrong. It should be mentioned to a doctor. Vomit that looks like coffee grounds would be a sign you need to see a doc right away as it would indicate there is probably a bleeding ulcer.

i think u wud receive some more experienced replies if we move this to healthy living so im going to go ahead and do so

my advice wud b maybe steer clear of alcohol and other things that r hard on ur gut until uve seen a doctor about this