• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Generic brands do not work for me.

twentyeight

Greenlighter
Generic brands do not work for me. Has anyone else had this problem?
The original brands always seem a lot more effective when dealing with pain and they give a pleasant feeling while the generic do not (personally).

I find this post to quite informing:

I don't take offense at ignorance, and that's what we have here - a lack of knowledge on part of those who claim differences in generic vs. name brand.

How do I know, I was an analytical chemist working with a formulation development team at a medium sized generic facility. I worked tens of thousands of hours working to ensure the formulations we created were 100% as bioavailable as the innovators product. This included human clinical trials after we got it down in vitro.

The USP or in house analytics published methodology for testing of active pharmaceutical ingredient and the fillers and binders. These methods were FDA approved as well to ensure our testing facilities were up to snuff.

Our QC lab handled all returned products from customer complaints. Back then (90s - early 2000s), not sure about now exactly, If you take a bottle of tablets back to a pharmacy and state that the generic isn't the same as the innovator's drug you used to take, or just claim inefficacy, the tablets were sent back to us for testing.