• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Subutex or methadone for withdrawal?

Rio Fantastic

Bluelighter
Hello,

First of all, my heroin habit isn't huge. I've been using daily for a couple of months, and when I try to quit I do go through some significant discomfort, which would be bearable if it weren't for the fact that the next couple of months I'm going to be very busy and HAVE to function well. So, I'm planning on swapping to either methadone or subutex and then immediately tapering the dose down to minimise withdrawals. I've heard that methadone is long lasting, so I figured that that might be worse since I wouldn't want the withdrawals to be extended any longer than they have to be, but I'm clueless about subutex. Which would you guys recommend I swap to in order to totally minimize any withdrawals? And how fast would you recommend the taper?

Also, I tried to quit today, and went 21 hours without getting any real symptoms other than a little inner discomfort. Does this mean I won't have any full blown withdrawal symptoms, or might I just be a slow metaboliser?

Any help would be VERY appreciated! You guys have never let me down in the past, I fucking love this place.

buprenorphine lasts more or less the same as methadone.
why don't you just wait the WDs out if you only have some minor discomfort?

None of the above. Get your ass some Kratom son! Saves my butt any every time I ride the withdrawal train. Very short acting too. So 5 or 6 days of nothing but kratom and your withdrawals should very mild and maybe even completely gone!