• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

eating disorders in the past...

syymphonatic

Bluelighter
I have a problem.. starting in 6th grade, I was writing diet plans, restricting my food intake, and meticulously counting calories. It last all the way up through high school, when I started learning how to throw up what I ate. that, and the other issues, still plague me today, although I consider myself over them (for the most part). I just have to watch myself to make sure that my logical head doesn't stray too far away.

The problem is... I want to be able to excercise and eat in moderation like normal people do. but when I eat normally, I feel still like it's too much. and when I try to actually excercise, it gets very very out of hand. like to the point where I obsessively go to the gym every single day, make myself follow strict diets (of celery and salads, crap like that usually), throw up when I eat normal food, count calories, record my weight 5 times a day... you see. I've always made an effort to eat healthy foods and cook for myself, and to not be a total couch potato, and I was vegetarian for 5 years, and I'm now phasing out meat again, so I've taken steps to at least be healthy enough to keep myself from going overboard, but it doesn't seem to matter if even part of my diet goes off balance.

I'm past the point of counselling now, I don't believe in it anymore, and I don't think my problem is active enough to merit the need for it. I just want some tips for how I can beat these things and try to eat and excercise like normal people. It usually rears up when something happens like (stupid) boys or the current problem, which is new birth control and paranoia about weight gain as a side effect.

any ideas? :\