• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Vegetarians- What do you do for Thanksgiving?

MynameisnotDeja

Bluelight Crew
Well thanksgiving is about a month away, but its never too early to start planning. I have made the choice to become vegetarian (well, I dont really claim the title, I have cut out all poultry and red meat, although I do eat seafood once in a greeeeeaaaat while-one thing at a time) in the past month. I am still learning to cook different recipes and find different things I can eat.

Im looking for thanksgiving suggestions. Im VERY worried Im going to slip up. (I love turkey and feel a little left out). Does anyone have any suggestions for some replacement dishes I could make for myself that would blend in well with the rest of the thanksgiving stuff? (mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, etc) Im not neccessarily looking for a fake turkey or anything, just something hearty so my plate wont be completely empty :(

Im mostly asking for advice for the long term vegetarians and vegans out there..what do you guys do for this special day so you are not the weirdo in your family who isnt participating in the big dinner?

Thanks! :)

Heh, I'm not exactly vegan or vegetarian, but I do have a group of about five or six friends who are all vegan, and I know they do something for thanksgiving, so I'll be sure to ask them.

Of course, when I was at Whole Foods last, I encountered something called Tofurky, which I know nothing about, and the whole idea of it sounds bizarre. Hell, it could be tasty, who knows?

<<< A "V-gun".

I eat with the family. My mom will adapt that which is easilly adapted, and then I will make an alternative entree. We usually have:
1. Mashed potatoes made with soymilk and earth balance margarine.
2. stuffing (with veggie stock and earth balance), a portion cooked outside of the turkey-carcass.
3. cranberry sauce (vegan from the get-go).
4. carrots (easy).