• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos Using alcohol as a bandaid for benzo withdrawal

uselessmerc

Greenlighter
Guys I need your help. I have run out of my long acting benzos and cannot get any more for another three days. I am worried about seizures - can alcohol work as a last resort?

Well, technically yes.

They act on the same receptors so if you drink enough they should resolve your symptoms.

But when you start to come down from your drunkeness, your symptoms will probably be worse. You'll also probably have a nasty hangover.

in theory yes it could be used as a last resort, i have no personal experience with it though

the short half-life would be a bitch but i guess you already know that

is it the only option?

Thank you guys. I haven't actually had a drink in over 10 years but I am terrified of having a seizure. I can handle all the other nasty symptoms (just) but I guess I wanted to know if there was some kind of safety net. If I had to, I would have a few sips maybe? Unfortunately, it's the only option for me. Unless you think upping my seroquel and beta blockers may help? I take these all in low doses to keep my anxiety under control.

Do not do this. It is simply trading one drug/addiction for another, and if you are an alcoholic or go on long or short benders/binges it is not going to help with the benzos withdrawal.

Instead go to a hospital or drug rehab/detox Centre run by medical professionals. Benzos withdrawal is dangerous as people have died from it.

Good luck and stay safe.

The alcohol is so short acting it will actually increase the risk of seizures. You're much better off going to a ER or doctor and explaining your emergency.