• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Treatment Using AI/Data Science to help treat addiction

ownstrength

Bluelighter
I've been a software engineer for a few years and in that time climbed my way up to FAANG, shorthand for the top 5 tech companies altho that's debatable. I am skilled with CompSci fundamentals and effective at passing technical interviews, but I lost nearly 20 years of my life to active addiction. I had to do less mentally demanding work, but still did some good. I feel if I am able make a contribution to the recovery field in my life will not have been wasted in vain. I am Buddhist, and considering some meditative approaches, but they're very challenging and I believe "God helps those who help themselves. esp with data science n stuff."

I had several clean years but one thing led to another and attaining to the higher levels of my dream job was overwhelmingly anxiety inducing. and I relapsed just before the mass firings, they just sealed the deal as I was junior and near the top of the list so I was fired too. My performance was fine I was assured, and I know I was able to solve problems my predecessor who moved to another tea couldnt. So I may not be brilliant, but I'm good enuff. I see a few ways to use the "advanced AI" / data science to assist with the problem. For example. In my case. I am sure a well-trained AI could see my relapse coming from months away and avoid it, kind of like keeping asteroids from hitting earth by using a weak gravitational force to change its angle minutely.

Then ways to help the addict in active addiction get out of it by various ways such as empowering them with awareness, predicting the spikes in their cravings, optimizing MAT schedules and methods, and so on. I have some more specific ideas but wish to retain the IP as I am no greedy but wish to use the resources for the wellfare of the many, unlike most companies.