• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Trying to get off opiates for good

Em09

Greenlighter
Hi all, I'm looking for some advice/support on getting off opiates.
I'm a 33 year old female and I have been using for 6 years with 2 breaks of about 8 months (whilst on methadone) my doc is heroin (snorting/smoking) although I have used pain pills or methadone if I couldn't get h. I have usually used around 1g per day sometimes more sometimes abit less.

I have tried quitting a few times lately using methadone taper for 3/4 days but keep relapsing on day 5 or 6 (stupid I know).
Anyways I really want to quit as I'm over spending so much money on drugs which could be spent on much better things and I want to be a better mother and wife and just feel happy and enjoy life.

I got back on methadone 3 weeks ago and have been taking between 30-60mg 3-4 days a week and using h on the other days. I last used h yesterday and had methadone today and plan on taking for next 3 days to help with the withdrawals but I'm worried I may then get withdrawals from the methadone (as I have been taking it 3/4 days a week for 3 weeks) does anyone know if I will get bad withdrawals from the methadone when I stop in the next few days?

I'm a stay at home mum and my husband works away so I have a baby and 3 year old to look after on my own. No family or friends know about my addiction, only my husband as I have always hidden it well. I'm just so over living like this! I used to get motivated and have energy when I used and felt like a good mum and wife as I would get everything done and have so much patience but these days it just seems to make me depressed and unmotivated when I use.

I just want to enjoy life with my family. I want to be happy and healthy and exercise. As I'm busy with my kids I haven't been eating very well or exercising so I also need to work on that as I know it will help my recovery so any advice on things I can be doing would be much appreciated as well.