• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Bupe Suboxone or not?

Hey guys. New here.
If I was the op, knowing what I do now, I'd seriously try and avoid going on the suboxone program to kick a codeine addiction.
I've been using codeine as my doc for approx 10 years. Before that I used H and morphine sporadically but fortunately without developing a habit. Just loved opiates I guess. These days I only use codeine because I drive a truck and I wouldn't keep my license if I used other opiates. It's also been so easy and cheap to get.
I first went on suboxone about 4 or 5 years ago. My codeine use at the time was 90 to 100x 12.8mg nurofen + pills per day (no CWE - straight from the packet to the stomach). Usually 30 at a time, 3 times a day, at which point my tolerance ceilinged out. The prescribing Dr put me on 16mg sub. After 8 months on the sub I ended up in hospital with impacted bowel (went 6 weeks without shitting) and when I got out of hospital I tapered off the sub. Quickly got down to 8mg, then 4mg and then 2mg, no probs (the doctors prescribe way too high doses of sub imo). Eventually tapered down to .10mg and I thought I could jump off from there. Couldn't do it. I went back on the codeine, built my habit back up, and then went back on the sub program. Same story. Tried to taper, jumped off at the lowest possible dose, but couldn't stand the long wd process. It felt like it was never going to end. Back on the codeine, and this is where I am now.