• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Poppy Seed Tea: be safe

MaxiTot13

Greenlighter
Poppy seed teas are getting more popular, and allegedly less potent in the US. That said, a very high level of caution is important when dealing with things like this.

I've never tried the tea, and don't think I will; I only use opioids for chronic pain, as labeled out on my script. That said, there are a lot of precautions you can take when using poppy seed tea based on research. I've collected some of those here.

I am not a doctor, nor a medical researcher, and should not be treated as such. This information is largely based on anecdotal evidence, and should not be considered absolute, and is anything but sacrosanct. Poppy seed tea (PST) can be dangerous with any precautions, can cause addiction and other adverse effects, and, when used, a user takes full responsibility for the risks. I do not advocate its use, here or anywhere.

First, you are dealing with an opiate here, rather opiates. That said you should follow the ultimate option for harm reduction: don't mix with booze. Second, you can never know the composition of the tea. It may have a lot of morphine, a lot of codeine, or a lot of thebaine. Or it could have none (more on that later). So treat it as though you are taking morphine or codeine: don't stack more morphine or codeine onto it, and avoid lethal combinations. Third, taking it with benzos is a bad idea. Taking benzos with anything you aren't sure of is a bad idea. Those are the rough basics. I know a lot of people have ignored them, but that's why there have been some deaths from PST.