Find Tagged Reports by Substance
    Substance Category
    Specific Substance
    Find Reports
  • Trip Reports Moderator: Xorkoth

Peyote - New Experience - Lakota Prayer Ceremony

Ugster

Bluelighter
I haven't posted on Bluelight in aeons, but I felt inspired to share a recent experience I had with Peyote in conjunction with the Lakota Native American Church.

I used to use many substances recreationaly, however after an intense experience with psychedelic medicines and plant medicines I underwent an extreme spiritual awakening which inspired me to give away everything I owned and embark on an adventure in the search of Spirit, and a more harmonious way of living with our mother earth. I have been traveling for the past 2 years, working with plant medicines, deepening my connection to the earth and the cosmos, and studying shamanic and indigenous techniques while helping as many people as I can along the way.

I normally do not share my experiences, they are very private and personal, but I felt inspired to share this particular experience to give a window to the sacramental and ceremonial use of plant medicines for healing and prayer. I feel like this aspect of medicine use has been lost in the eyes of mainstream culture, and many people have forgotten these sacred ways of living and being.

I was planning a medicine journey when the exciting news came - I had been invited to participate in an authentic Native American Prayer Ceremony with some of the locals. I was told that a full blood Lakota medicine man would be leading the ceremony.

While I have been using plant medicines for several years ceremonially by myself or with very close friends, I had never had an opportunity to participate in an authentic indigenous ceremony. I felt extremely honored and blessed to have been granted the opportunity to pray with these sacred medicines in such an ancient way with others who are on the medicine path.