• ✍️ WORDS ✍️

Welcome Guest!

• Words Moderators: Mysterier

Past and Present Tense?

malakaix

Bluelighter
I have just recently finished writing the draft of a 10,000 word story detailing a week long hitch-hiking journey myself and a friend undertook last year in June.

I've only shown the finished draft to two friend's of mine to get opinions, both had a similar recommendation regarding the style of writing, i've never written anything of this length before or in the form of story/memoir format so I wrote with what felt comfortable and allowed me to get the bulk information down. I seem to have written mostly in past-tense, as though im re-telling the series of events rather then telling them as their unfolding with the reader's progression.

Both friends advised it would be more interesting in present-tense. I've taken the criticism on board and made an adjustment to the opening paragraph of the first chapter. I was hoping to get opinions on what reads better? At the moment i'm leaning in the direction of the second example.. but it also means i will have to re-write the entire thing, it will be easier since everything is already there and i can make adjustments.. but it's a lot to edit.

So here are the examples: (The grammar and punctuation is probably wrong, i still need to edit everything) The second is probably more of a mix of the two..

Old/Past Tense: