• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Need help getting off IV Dilaudid

KJ_Namaste

Greenlighter
It's been a long time since i've posted here but I supposevthe time has come that I am ready to reach out for help. I've been using opiates on and off for over 10 years, and ive been a daily user for the last year and a half after a 1 year break that ended in relapse due to mental health issues and PAWS.
I picked up the needle for the first time about 8 monthes ago, went from snorting dilaudid to shooting. My dose has been constant at 8 mg between 5 and 8 times a day (40-64 mg IV) daily.

On top of that I have been also taking 100 SR morphine daily, though i find I can go without it.
Now, i'm at a point where I am sick and tired of dealing with doctors visits, IV, and the list goes on...my goal is to escape the cycle, but i don't know what strategy to employ.

I do know one thing for sure and that is I dont want to go cold turkey because last time I did that I ended up suffering from PAWS for a year before relapsing.
Now, it seems like my options are such....

1. Suboxone microdose
2. Methadone
3. 24/hr release Morphine

I'm inclined to go with the suboxone route as my doctor suggests, but the question is how long should i stay on it...and will it be able to stop me from wanting to inject Dilaudid?

To be honest I don't think the subs will stop you wanting to inject dillies. They should however help quite a bit with the cravings, but after a while you may still want to get high. The subs will block the ability to get high from other opioids whilst you work on what's causing you to wanna take them with therapy, meetings, whatever.

It's good you have choices though. If it were me I would start taking the ER morphine orally and to gradually take less dillies - orally too if you can but plugging or snorting are apparently good compromises as long as you're able to reduce your dosing!

Last edited: