• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Misc Locating veins! Help

sora12

Greenlighter
Im trying to inject into veins. I am new to this but i have seen many videos on youtube and i feel pretty confident and have done it a couple of times. But i have a question about the veins. There are two visible green veins running down my arm. If i touch them lightly i can feel them. Are those veins, or are those arteries! Im planning on injecting into them and dont want to find out theyre arteries! Are all the visible green veins in the arms veins? Arteries arent visible right?

Those are veins. If they have a pulse, they are arteries. If they dont...they are veins.

Those are veins. If they have a pulse, they are arteries. If they dont...they are veins.

This is not the benchmark you want to use for locating veins and differentiating them from arteries. I can feel my pulse of various parts of my body, including certain large veins. It's definitely just untrue that "veins don't have a pulse and arteries do". For an average person, differentiating between veins and arteries should not be difficult. The thing is, it's something that you really want to have someone with a lot of experience demonstrate for you a couple of times.

In general, peripheral veins lie close to the skin, whereas arteries are found deeper. It should not be difficult to avoid arteries if you are injecting into the common areas for new users i.e. the median cubital fossa (the crook of the elbow). There are a lot of large, easy to access veins in this area and it's periphery.