• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Living on substitution treatment and experiencing big changes

Ignio

Bluelighter
Living on substitution treatment and experiencing big life changes

Hey everone.

I have been on methadone substitution for close to a year now. 60 mg methadone each day. I am 30 and I have been using in 15 years. I have a Master of Science degree despite of my addiction. I have just started full time work for the first time since all things went to hell and my addiction became a full time "job" in itself. On top of this, one of my close friends killed himself 8 days ago, this have removed me from my "happy track of experience" and back to feeling depressed again.

The stress from trying to live up to my new "self" is triggering almost all my triggers. I am constantly fighting the need to ask for an increase in my methadone or just add something myself. There is no doubt in my mind that it is better to increase my methadone than self medicating, but simultaneously, I am not self medicating yet and increasing my dosage is a big step in the wrong way. That being said, I am years from being psychologically ready to lower my dosage.

I am writing this to ask if others have been in my situation so I can learn from your experience? Everyone else is welcome to offer their advice too of cause.

It should be added that I have just increased my clonazepam from 0,5 to 2 mg each day to deal with social anxiety.

Last edited:
Increasing your methadone is the least drastic of the decisions you presented. I would do that.