• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

hydrocodone habit; getting off help ?

WriterDirector58

Bluelighter
I am a 58 year old man widower in phenomenal health in nyc; very high pressured career; media ceo writer director producer; also masters degree level forensic psychologist; cash poor widower; two adult kids with challenges; one autistic one battling auto immune kidney disease ( successfully ); my work the adaptation of classic literature into modern commercial media is fascinating but extremely high pressured; i have been doing this non stop for 40 years; 35 years at a world level; i started very very young; i have to submit several complicated genius level ( no shit ) works to major studios backers and packaging agencies; this is very do or die for me; as we all age; we experience some diminishment in my case; slight in faculties; i am better than i have ever been at my job but require naps; worried about permanent lessening of stamina energy concurrent with age; at 58; i am new at being old; and am somewhat dorian gray like; looked 40 at 22 which is how i was able to work as a professional director at a national level starting at 19; still look the same now; so i have dorian gray like illusion that i havent aged except for tiredness ( of course this could be my pain killers lol and not lol ) am off all drugs except hydrocodone which i am prescribed for legit pain problem colorectal spasms from ibs; and following minor but painful colorectal surgery; have moderate hydrocodone regime; am taking 25 - 40 mg a day; want to stop; think i am having moments when i am " dopesick " when i dont take pills but this could be in mind; i am very psychosomatic; want to taper get off substitute medical cannibas oil for opiates; want to know what to do; i am a mental health professional; getting scared about the future; my situation seems modest comparatively but dont want it to get worse; and i am sleeping too much and my sleep cycle is f_____ up; been on th