How would one determine what frequency a song is in?

Jabberwocky

Frumious Bandersnatch
For those who don’t know XXX and a lot of others have talked about frequency of music. IE... 432, 446 shit like that. I was just wondering if anyone had knowledge on how to determine that. I make music myself but I have no clue what frequency I’m putting out. Is there some sort of tool that can’t register it or does GarageBand on Mac have a wait to measure it

Here's a fine explanation from one of the most reputable developers of some of the finest software in the world (arguably but in my opinion of course);

GarageBand I have no experience with (looked at it once and that was that). I'd hazard a guess though and say that it'd based at the standard of 440Hz.

Short answer:

If you want to be able to play with others and those instruments include analogue orchestral instruments, choose 440hz for practicality.
If you play alone, choose whatever suits you or your purpose. There are esoteric reasons to choose 432hz , including the belief that it sounds more pleasing; but one has to decide whether it is worth it in the practical sense. Re-tuning an analog piano is not a trivial task, for concrete example. There was a practical reason long ago, but modern musical instrument manufacturing has largely overcome the shift to 440hz.

Dealer choice, LOL ! :cool:

YYMV of course ...