• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

How Can I Support My Significant Other?

Imwideaw4ke

Greenlighter
About 3 months ago I found out my girlfriend was using Vicodin regularly. She told me this because being a paramedic I saw the signs and symptoms and finally manned up to ask about it. she told me she was getting clean and using suboxone for about a month but something just wasn't sitting right. After one night of coming home to find her nodding out on the couch I did some snooping around and found a make up bag under her bathroom sink full of cotton swabs, needles, a spoon, and some other paraphernalia. When I confronted her she told me it was old from when her old boyfriend got her hooked on the stuff. she told me she got rid of it then the next day I found the same bag in a new hiding place. Confronted her again only for her to tell me that she used needles a month ago when she lost her job, but she is truly clean now. Now she swears she is clean and only using suboxone to get by, I've been looking around again and haven't found anything except a iodine cleaning swab and some paper towel with little blood spots on it in a plastic bag in her bathrooms trash. I've had suspicions the whole time that she is still using needles but I don't know what to do anymore. I've suggested rehab, vivitrol, counseling, seeing a doctor, but she is not doing any of it, saying she can do this on her own with occasional suboxone and xanax which makes her act just the same as when she would get high. I guess what I'm asking is if suboxone and xanax will make you feel the same high(with pinpoint pupils), and with all the lying about that bag I found does it seem legit that she is getting clean? I'm new to this whole thing, I love her and I want to get her help if she needs it but I feel like I'm talking to a brick wall. Any advice or comments would be appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator: