GAMING
  • Sports & Gaming Moderators: ghostfreak

fly fishing

alasdairm

Moderator: S&T
Staff member
hi

does anybody here fly fish?

the snow season just ended here in tahoe so i managed to fit in two days flyfishing on the east walker river in northern nevada. i have not been fishing for a while and this short trip reminded me how much i enjoy it.

so where do you fish? what's it like?

what methods do you employ?

what are your fly recommendations? do you tie your own flies?

alasdair

i've never been fly fishing. Always wanted to, but eever have anyone that'd want to do it with me. Most of the fishing i've done has been salt water fishing, and i'm an amateur at best. But have a great time..

Oh dude, I could write the longest reply in bluelight history on this subject..

I've spent hundreds of hours fly fishing. From the Upper Peninsula in Michigan, to Saskatchewan, and all over Ohio and it's great Lake Erie run-offs, it's really an enjoyable hobby everyone can take part in.

Rods:
A quality graphite rod is always your top choice. Start off with a pole no longer than 9 feet 6 inches in length. You can work your way up to a bigger, longer pole as you become comfortable with the way it works. 9.5 feet gives you a good feel for using something longer than a traditional fishing rod.

I personally use a 12.5 foot rod now, it actually breaks down into 3 pieces so I can store it in my trunk.

Reel:
People will tell you that 'you get what you pay for' alot of times, but I don't think this is the case with fly reels. I've had just the same luck and quality with a 'beginner' cheapy reel than I do with my current one ($160) Make sure when you buy a reel you get one with a large spool capacity, and an open face reel.

Open Face vs. Closed

teton-outside.jpg
sa3m-one-reel.jpg