• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Harm Reduction Coke

lavanlavan

Greenlighter
Hi, I have been using small amounts of coke once a week for several years. I reckon half a gram. I share it with my husband and we got into it because it was the only way he could communicate properly with me. Now we use together to enjoy one evening without the kids, and to talk things over without arguing.
I would like to know how to limit any scary damage. I usually use for about 3 hours, then take 1mg Xanax to sleep. I clean my nose with saline also.
I am more concerned about my heart really.. I am in my 40's and have 2 kids, I know we should just share a bottle of wine like normal couples, but this works for us. We only ever do it together and never more than once a week.
Any comments or advice appreciated. Thanks

Have you had an echocardiogram? Maybe get one, just for reassurance and to make sure there's no serious damage already done.

Magnesium - specifically highly bioavailable forms, chelated or bisglycinate - supplements should help with some stimulant related muscle tension - although I'm not sure offhand if it will make any significant difference to the cardiac effects, I think it may do but please don't take this as gospel.

I did some research on this a while back and dug up the research I could find - here's a link to the thread if you're interested - https://www.bluelight.org/xf/threads/methods-to-reduce-cardiotoxicity.805255/

The takeaway as far as I could tell is that supplementing selenium is the only thing that really, MAYBE might have some beneficial effect, but this has not been explicitly proven.