• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

choosing to focus on music>college, advice needed

paint_splash

Greenlighter
EDM is my entire life. I hate school, I get really good grades but it is not for me. I am not interested in anything else except for EDM. I have been working on producing for a couple of years. I dropped out of college to focus on producing, I am planning to get an apartment with my friend, work part time and focus on my productions. I have no guidance in my life but the couple of adults I have talked to think I should go to school as a plan B, including my former career counselor. I would not want to waste so much time and money on a plan B when I know I want to do plan A. I plan to work on my stuff until it takes off for me, which is "1 in a million", but if I keep working at it I don't see why I don't have a chance. Having these people look at me like I am crazy when I tell them my plan, is discouraging and it makes me feel like I am doing nothing and will get nowhere in life. I would appreciate some some opinions on this choice, since I have no guidance over here it would be nice to get some input, thank you.:?

i have a friend in the music business. he's not quite famous, but his band regularly plays/records with several grammy-winning artists (including members of the Allman Brothers and Lynyrd Skynyrd). he's been working hard at it for at least ten years, and has achieved more success than any other local artists I've known. despite several steady weekly gigs and a lot of bigger ones throughout the year, he still barely earns enough to make rent. he has friends, established, grammy-winning artists, who basically live couch to couch.

i'm not hating on your dreams, but it's worth considering that even if you DO make it, you could still need a plan B if you ever want a steady income.

It's better to do, not to think about doing. I'm kinda exactly where you're at.

Going to college is never a waste, unless you waste your time in it.