Australian & Asian
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • AADD Moderators: swilow | Vagabond696

Ceiling Dose? No way

puddle.up

Bluelighter
Now, I know the theory of the ceiling dose that is apparently associated with codeine is a well over discussed topic, but I had to express my opinion on it.
I've been using codeine for a few years now, not too often, I usually limit myself to one dose a week, sometimes I'll dose a few more times, but sometimes I'll dose a few less, or none at all. So I am a consistent user, but not a heavy user.
Up until recently, I had always kept my dose to 600mg, it gave me the high I needed, and the tablets I buy have an even 600mg in a box, so it seemed logical, and keeping my dose lower will prevent an insane tolerance building up.
But this morning, I had a large supply, so I figured "fuck it, let's bump it up a bit and see what this ceiling dose is all about". So instead of taking my usual 600mg, I bumped it up to 840mg, and to sum it up.. WOW!
I was literally zonked, nodded quite a bit, and was just generally trolleyed. I haven't have such a nice opiate high since back in my oxy and heroin days. Now let me be clear, I am by NO means comparing heroin, or even oxy, to codeine, because it's apple and oranges, but the effects I got from an 840mg dose was hugely stronger than my usual 600mg.
It brings into question, for the millionth time, is the apparent "ceiling dose" for codeine a real thing? I know it's a theory, and the theory has merit, and I realise that even if there were a ceiling dose it would vary from person to person, but seriously, the high I got from 840mg was incredible, especially for a drug as subtle as codeine, so the apparent 400mg ceiling dose, or whatever it is, seems like far less probable to me now.