• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Any tips for getting off H without subs/methadone

mellonhead

Greenlighter
Hello. I'm a 2nd yr college student living a double life and I'm sick of it. After 7 years of smoking h, I'm ready to stop. I've been on Suboxone in the past for almost a total of 1 year (a couple months here and there over the years in a sad attempt to quit) but ultimately switched back since it's basically trading one habit for another. Both result in the same withdrawal if not dosed after any given number of hours. The same withdrawal that I'm SEVERELY paralyzed with fear to face, hence my decision not to just cut myself off cold turkey/wein off. I will add that I've been using anywhere from 1gr-2grs daily of tar for 3yrs +. I smoke it. Banged it my 2nd year in and due to my invisible veins, went back to smoking only a year later, not sure whether or not that is relevant to my current situation but the more details, the better I'm assuming. I will also add that if I go even 2 or 3 hours without it, I start to feel withdrawals. Which, according to the fellow users I come across, is rather soon. I can agree with that, because when I compare it to my earlier days of using, it'd take 6-8hrs no less.That being said, it's been about 3 years since I have even let myself get close to sick due to the INSANE fear I get at even the thought of becoming sick. I've had my terrible kicking days in my earlier years, which was the motivation for finding a way to never have to go through it again. I'm tired of this cycle. I'm 23yo and have a whole life ahead of me and I just can't see myself carrying this monkey on my back for the rest of my life. However, I REFUSE to use crutches like methadone or subs since I've been there and the withdrawal is the same, if not, worse. Which is the very thing I want to avoid. Cold turkey isn't an option. I'd rather die that cold turkey NO doubt about it. My habit is heavy and I need tips on anything else I can do to