• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

12 step bullshit

Zephyn

Bluelighter
I've been using drugs for like 15 years but never really had a problem until I left a toxic relationship 3 years ago, and breaking codependency I got into hard drugs. I've been on and off coke meth and heroin, in and out of institutions like rehabs and now I'm at a halfway house. Thing is, I've never really gone hard or done meth or crack unless I either was already or was about to be homeless. I'm starting to think this is a systemic issue and a lot of these rehabs and halfway houses are just preying on people like me. I've got some money so its like why not get an apartment rather than paying someone 250 a week with a contract that they can kick me out whenever they want. Almost wound up homeless for drinking a single beer, and I've never been a big drinker. I feel like this is not the stability I need and could be dangerous as I might wind up homeless again. This will probably all blow over once I get a job.

Its also like, I've got ptsd these days and always had issues and cannabis is a serious medicine for me, especially coming off of antipsychotics and antidepressants that were pumped into me in rehab. Grrrr

there certainly are some exploitative practises out there. here in the UK homeless shelters charge councils close to a grand per week to house people.

if you don't think you're being offered a good service, then look elsewhere.

not sure how your post relates to the thread title?

Well I've found the most exploitive places to be 12 step based. I am working the NA program, as much as it can for an atypical addict like myself who has avoided chemical dependency thru poly drug use.

I'll update the thread sometime when I have more energy to ramble about the cult like aspects and negatives of 12 step methodology and the multibillion dollar industry its created