• Welcome Guest

Forum Guidelines Bluelight Rules
    Fun 💃 Threads Overdosed? Click
    D R U G   C U L T U R E

Writer Looking for Info on Heroin Detox Process

AgnesCat

Greenlighter
Hi everyone. I'm a writer who is trying to write a character going through cold turkey heroin detox in a strange environment. I have done some research into what detox entails, but I have some very specific questions relating to the situation my character is in. Would anybody be willing to share your experiences and answer some questions? I'd be most appreciative.

Hi - You've come to a good place for your research. You'll find a lot of what you're looking for is already here. Look into the recovery forums, the mega threads on heroin and other opioids (fentanyl is a hot topic these days - unfortunately) in Other Drugs forum (here), the sticky post at the top of this forum, "Should I try Heroin...", is likely going to give you hours of reading and note taking.

Poke around and you'll find more than enough to fill a few volumes, imo. I'm not sure you'll get too many people who want to type out their story here, but if you wish PM me and I'll give you some personal, no bullshit history of the slide into addiction, I did not start with pills. I started with heroin and have been in treatment with methadone (four years) then buprenorphine (Subutex / Suboxone) (another decade) but still relapse occasionally - just this past week in the east of the US where some fentanyl laced stuff, and some pure fentanyl dope - no heroin - nearly killed me several times. I've been fighting this a long time.

I am an IV user, typical in many respects although typical is not a good term for those suffering addiction - we come from every segment of society.

Have a poke around the various forums and you'll find there's already more than you need right here.