• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Barbiturates versus benzodiazepines?

Veritatem

Greenlighter
So my research interest for this past month or so has been pretty much centered on CNS depressants. I have taken barbiturates, perhaps, twice in my life recreationally, anaesthesia and hospitalizations excepted. In both cases the substance was butalbital in doses less than 300 mg. Not sure if meprobamate is considered a true barbiturate or not, but I have quite a lot of experience with it through the use of carisoprodol. From my limited experience, barbs just "feel" dangerous, even in relatively moderate doses, not to mention that barbs have a terrible reputation for death even in mild overdose. Benzos, on the other hand, I have a lot of past experience with, and in much larger doses and varieties. They never felt as dangerous when benzos were the only drug taken; they just seemed to cause profound amnesia and various paradoxical reactions. I do know personally the pain and suffering (and possible lethality of benzo withdrawal; I can only imagine that barb withdrawal must be much more severe). If both barbs and benzos at their lowest common denominator produce their effects via GABA, what causes there to be such a major clinical difference in the safety of the medicines? Are benzos essentially "barb-lite" medicines or is the MOA totally different? Forgive me if these seem like a basic questions. I'm very interested in pharmacology, and have a basic understanding of a number of medicines but I'm not quite advanced enough yet to understand the finer details. Anyone have some experiences or knowledge that might help?

From the wiki page on barbiturate derivatives: