• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Redosing oxycodone

Mynameisbane

Greenlighter
Okay so I took 40mg orally at about 1pm, it is now 7:40pm, is it okay to redose 20mg by snorting and still feel the effects? (These oxys are the OC one so are snortable) I'm used to opiates so I'm not a newbie, I just want a more 'professional answer. Any feedback is greatly appreciated ?

You can re-dose but you may not feel the same pleasurable effects you did earlier today. Ultimately, only you can answer this because every person is different and will have differing experiences. I prefer to nap before taking another dose.

Generally speaking, with shorter acting opioids (e.g. hydrocodone, oxycodone) redosing can be done 4 - 6 hours after previous dose and effects will be received. As T said, the effects will likely diminish with each redose.

just be sure not to overdo it. I know you said you have experience, just sayin!

Real OC's are rare...
Grind it finely as possible if snorting, and remember it peaks in 10-15 minutes

every 4-8 hours is standard, 12 hours if dose is large, or if you use oxycodone rectally, you can wait (should) 8-12 hours; generally, the longer you wait, the better, unless you are a chronic pain patient, which is a different situation

Not much more can be added? Note that if you swallow OC/OP's without breaking the CR, then it can take a couple of hours for it to really kick in, and if it's a high dose, you should wait several hours; rectal is similar, though probably more reliable, especially compared to the OP's

Good point Lorne -