• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Recovery Treatment and Recovery: JerryBlast's Journal and AskMeAnything

JerryBlast

Greenlighter
Well, it's been a hell of a ride. I am 24 years old and I am still trying to figure out the scale and depth of the hole I have been digging for the past idk, 10 years.. I was very unstable during my childhood and apparently, my environment combined with those unfortunate upbringings were a major factor in what played the part in me and my heavy drug use.. When it came to getting the treatment I was never really interested in outside sources (outside my family/ home/self). I was really relying on my ability to maintain self-control when I had no idea I was already far past losing it completely and at the time was not clearly able to process things in a way to accept that I was incapable of doing it myself or at home. Then one day I woke up and everything changed. It wasn't the first time but it was definitely a message I knew was very bad for me. My wife (domestic partner) of 6 years up and disappeared. I am not upset with her nor do I resent her for the decision. I get it, I was a fool for the way I treated her and the behavior I had I can say today, was that of a teenager and unacceptable.. I had/have a lot of growing up to do but I have come a long way in just 1 month. Farther than I got in 3 months cold-turkey on my own with 2 jobs last time (check my profile and threads for my first attempt to quit using.. I relapsed this is my second major attempt and public coming out)

Today, I did it. I have a long road ahead of me but I did something that has been very hard for me to do for a long time and I feel like I will be able to stick with this decision more than I have before. Here are some differences I have made at this time that are different than the last time.

Last Time:

Cold-Turkey, No Treatment (Of any kind therapy or nothing)
Wife Was Living Here (I was already taking the situation for granted)