• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Recovery A new me.

ladyhlove

Bluelighter
I have posted some lately but I'm going to make this my official recovery thread. I know that having support is key in the recovery process and, since none of my friends use, I need somewhere and someone to let it out to. Here is goes.

I'm Kate. I'm 31 and, from first glance, I'm your typical girl. I have a good job as a paralegal, I have a cute little house in the city with a big rottweiler, I have a very active social life with an abundance of friends. No one would guess that I am a heroin addict.

While the only thing I really ever abused for much of my 20's has been alcohol, I always had a thing for pain pills. I didn't use them too often, but if they came around I would always get a few and really enjoy the feeling they gave me. I suffer from intense depression, and have since my teenage years, and it sometimes makes it so the simple things in life (like cleaning, keeping up with homework in school, etc) seem very difficult to do. I always loved the feeling opiates gave me and, instead of nodding out and being lazy, I always felt this intense motivation and happiness on pills. I always knew if I found a regular supplier, I would be in trouble. And then I did, and then I was.

I began using pills almost daily. Not all day, but I would pretty much pick up a dose high enough to get me high every night after work. Usually between 40-80mg of oxy depending upon my tolerance at that given time. This lasted about a year and a half. I quit for a few days periodically when I was out of money or couldn't find pills, but never for more than a week. This kept going until the boyfriend I had at the time found out and left me. I went CT after this breakup for about 3 weeks and got myself fairly back to normal. However, I found myself still using on occasion, but not regularly, for a few months.