• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos Is this Benzo W/D or am I okay?

Bealzebot

Greenlighter
Okay so this is my first time posting and if anyone could shed some light onto my situation it would be much appreciated.

I have been taking xanex since early December. I have always had PTSD/GAD and figured they might help. I tried 1 mg of xanex a couple times back in the first week in December and they helped tremendously and my anxiety subsided for a bit so I didn't feel the need to continuously take them. Fast foreward to mid January and I start taking them again, usually 1 mg to sleep every other night or the occasional "bender" with a friend where we'd take a whopping 2 mg one night.

Over the past week besides one day where I didn't take any it has been 1 mg a night and then 3 days ago where it was 2 mg and I noticed I was building a tolerence. The next morning I felt weird, light-headed, and anxious all day so I figured maybe take a break from xanex altogether. Yesterday I had a full blown anxiety attack and almost went to the hospital until I decided to take 1 mg. Passed out for the better half of 14 hours and woke up feeling okay this morning. Later on in the day today I started feeling very anxious and "wired" or on edge/shakey so I looked into WD and rebound anxiety etc. Now I'm worried that I'm going to have a seizure or something and die.

I've never taken above 2 mg ever and there have been times where it was a week or two in between use. My mom has been on Xanex (.5 mg) for a long time for her PTSD and told me to continue to take .5 a day only until I can fully taper.

I did end up taking a .5 today to be on the safe side and I'm feeling relatively okay besides being a little irritable and kinda shakey.