• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

help

lost2086

Greenlighter
I think I need advice. I'm a teacher, started my opiate abuse about 10yrs ago when my mom would share her prescription with me. I've suffered from depression and anxiety most of my life and opiates seem to be the only thing that made me feel happy. Since my addiction started my mother has died and I'm incredibly lonely and the only thing that keeps me going is my next high. I know I need to stop but I don't feel like I have the strength to, and I feel like it's the only joy I have in my life anyway. I'm broke and work 2 jobs to afford the pills. Would I be a good canidate for subuxone? I'm worried about having anything on my perm. record. Right now I can't afford a pill for a few days and feel beyond lost and my anxiety is killing me. I've never posted before and no one in my life knows I have this addiction so I can't talk to them. I know I need help, I just don't know what to do. I seem to associate a lot of stuff with going to get high. Like just driving my car makes me think I want to be driving to get some. Has anyone else experienced this? Any tips to fight thru it?

Hi, Lost. I'm sorry to hear how isolated you're feeling. But I'm so glad you posted!

Without knowing your full medical situation it's not possible to say for sure, but based on what you've described it sounds like you'd be a great candidate for suboxone. Have you looked into the availability of doctors/programs in your area who can prescribe it?

Your story is eerily similar to my own. I also started using when I was working as a teacher and taking care of my very ill mother. My mom also died recently (in January). It's a terrible set of circumstances.