• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Sigma Receptor Ligands and Peculiar Structural Similarities

Volsam

Bluelighter
I like researching drugs molecules, read about binding affinities, pharmacology and all that suff, but I have no chemical study background, nor any medical education, so I do it simply for fun.

I have recently gotten a rather atypical antidepressant from Russia, Afobazole (Fabomotizole) and was reading about it's action - turns out that it's antidepressive qualities may come from agonism on sigma-1 receptor. So I started reading more on this and was a little surprised to find DMT, PCP, Cocaine, DXM, Methamphetamine and all other addictive and nicely active stuff as agonists (or antagonists) on this receptor. :?8)

I have also found a peculiar similarities in molecular structures of most of the ligands - they all contain phenyl ring and a nitrogen having 3 methyls attached to it in a triangle shape (like DMT) or 2 methyls and a hydrogen (like Ketamine or Methamphetamine), with exception of hormones and hormonal steroids, like Progesterone, DHEA and Pregnenolone (they probably exert their action through Pregnane X receptor?..).

Made a little picture with some of the molecules that bind to sigma receptor:
2qalic1.jpg

I may be stating something very obvious here but those structures similarities appeared rather interesting and not mentioned anywhere.

I'm wondering what does it really take (scientifically proven) for a molecule to bind to sigma receptors and why is there barely any research in this area?