• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Switching from Adderall to Vyvanse and back to Adderall question

endurance72

Greenlighter
Good Afternoon!

I am new to bluelight, so I will do my best to post appropriately!

I am a 44 yo female and was diagnosed with adult ADHD 7 months ago. I am 5'6 and weigh 156 lbs. Originally, I was put on 20mg of Adderall IR once a day. After one month, increased to 30mg Adderall IR once a day. I would usually break them in half and take 15mg in the AM and 15mg around 2-3pm. This dosage helped for a while, but I never found it to last as long as it needed to.

So, I asked to be switched to Vyvanse for a more steady control of symptoms. I was put on 70mg of Vyvanse a week ago and I HATE IT! It took forever to kick in (if it even did) and I was back to my constantly distracted ADHD self... couldn't sit down or focus on anything. I also felt like crap... no energy or motivation to do anything. I also had an increase in anxiety.

I called my doc and he put me back on Adderall IR- 20mgAM and 20mg in afternoon.

My question is.. Has anyone else had experiences like this? Do you think this new prescription will be more effective in controlling my symptoms? I will start tomorrow.

Thanks for any input!

First off, can I go to your doctor. It is almost unheard of to be diagnosed with ADHD at 44 years old. As I am writing this I am completely baffled.