• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Any tattoo artists here?

Ds

Bluelight Crew
Hey family, so i have recently invested into purchasing a tattooing kit, it includes pretty much everything.
Just curious on what to do next, any suggestions or helpful advice for an aspiring tattoo artist?

I'm unable to purchase a stencil printer? So that being said, how would i be able to stencil a drawing onto someones skin?

How exactly does shading work? After I do my lines, whats the next step to give the tattoo depth and weight?

There are a few tattoo artists kicking around on bl, hopefully one or two might venture in here and give you some pointers.

Looking forward to seeing your progression. Don't forget to show us some pics
I'm looking forward to it.

[lurking]*

*not a professional tattoo artist, more of an enthusiastic amateur. but will def. be milling around this thread :)

Hey keeping, do you have any stencils, drawings you've got in mind? I'd love to see your artwork!

Im not a pro but I've been doing it for fun for many years. First, be ready to spend a ridiculously long amount of time reading, watching videos and if you get the chance, talking with and watching a professional. There's a ridiculous amount of things to learn and every technique requires weeks, months and even years of practice just to get decent at them. Also keep in mind that not everyone is good at everything. Its possible and normal that you'll never perfect certain techniques and some you could even be terrible at. Also be aware of what you can or can't do before tattooing anyone! Tatts are permanent and not always easy to fix.

All that beng said, its a hell of a lot of fun and very satisfying when you finally get to see your art on a satisfied client.