• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

submitting to detox and possible 1 week methadone taper

teckktrader1980

Greenlighter
Hey guys!

This is my first post but I have been a long time lurker. My back story is no different than many others here so I won't go into it. I have been using some form of opioid for the last 2 years and with many failed attempts to quit on my own I have decided to check into a week long rehab facility. I'm nervous about going because I will have no contact with the outside world for 7 days.

This maybe a good thing as it will ensure I do not score anything for at least a week. Now my big question is they said they will offer me methadone to help with the withdrawal symptoms. I have never done methadone before and I currently do anywhere between 100 to 200mg of oxycodone/oxycontin or equivalent in hydromorphone.

Would doing methadone for a couple days help or hinder me. They also offer Valium and codeine as needed. You will be monitored 24 hours a day so it is a safe environment. Any advice from someone that has gone this route would be very appreciated.

Mods...if this is posted in the wrong area please move to the proper form.

Be safe everyone

Are the intake of 100-200 mg oxycodone daily? Have you ever taken anything IV?
How long time have you been taking 100-200 mg of oxycodone?

I don't know you, but to be honest one week of rehab will not be enough for most people. In my experience they say that the minimal amount of rehab required is one month pr year you have been an addict.