• TDS Moderators: AlphaMethylPhenyl | Eligiu | deficiT

Mental Health I'm greatful I didn't commit suicide because:

Jabberwocky

Frumious Bandersnatch
Thought I'd add some positive to this section. Was meaning to post this the other day but didn't get around to it.

Having undergone mental health issues since a young kid, mainly depression and anxiety it has led me to make one of many several failed suicide attempts. Today I reflect and see that a lot of good would of been missed if I had commited myself to that and that other people's lives around me wouldn't be the same either. In saying that I am greatful I didn't commit suicide because:

- I have seen my 4 nephews grow up
- I finished my Masters
- I have grown to live and learn how to best deal with my mental health issues
- I have met some nicer people who have made me think otherwise about lie
- i have redefined my own views which used to make me want to commit suicide

Well that's a few.

Mind you I now realise suicide is not an option but rather a challenge that must be overcome to appreciate a long stretch of great days ahead.

Would like to know what you are greatful for :)

Hmmm I'm grateful to be still alive... I guess

Going back to school to be an RN, a new challenge in my life assuming my health holds up. Learning new things is always fun and the human body is fascinating.

It's mostly the pain and suffering I would be inflicting on family / close friends that has kept me here

Shit this was supposed to be positive

Ah my list is always growing but I'll go over the real big stuff that leads me to be grateful I survived my suicide attempts

- I re-discovered my sense of spirituality away from the manipulation of my family's church
- I came to understand and embrace myself including the pieces of me my family rejected
- I got to start transitioning physically & socially and can now live my truth
- I got to see one of the most important bands in my life live