The Electronic Music Production Megathread v. Phase One

Tranced

Bluelight Crew
Edit: After a few recent questions regarding production and no viable threads to merge with, this is now the The Electronic Music Production Megathread v. Phase One.

The content goes without saying, but feel free to post your:
  • Production tips
  • Production questions
  • Sound design discussion
  • VST discussion
  • DAW discussion
  • 'How do I make this sound' type questions
  • Etc etc

The first few posts might not make complete sense as I merge a few other recent posts with the thread. For showcasing your productions and getting feedback, check The productions thread Part III!

Cheers.

-Tranced

--------------

Eyy guys and girls! I'm new to the EDM scene, I am trying to get some tracks created. Anyone use FL Studios and have any hidden tutorial videos that can help? I found one on youtube thus far which has helped tremendously! It's an overwhelming program!! xD

I don't use FL Studio, but I used to. I find that the layout is quite conducive to good flow and arrangement of tracks; even more so than Ableton, to be honest.

There are no 'hidden tutorials' which are really going to be any better than the thousands of videos available on youtube. IMO a lot of production videos are made by people with questionable abilities anyway. I see a lot of people giving advice on making some really weak sounds which would never stand up in a track. That's not to say all are like that (judge each for yourself), but my point being that even the paid for videos can lack quality information... so just cherry-pick the good ones on youtube.

If you want my advice, then it is to listen to a lot of music/find your own niche, invest a lot of time creating it, and if you think something just sounds weak/shit, don't be afraid to delete that sound and use a new one; but then again, don't fall into the rut of not making/finishing a track because it isn't perfect.