• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

I need advice regarding my education from here onwards [long]

Slash5331

Bluelighter
I'm in my second year of an engineering degree. At the start of the semester I was feeling confident that I had my alcohol addiction under control and that life was going well, so I enrolled in classes that were a bit ambitious. Long story short, my longtime girlfriend broke up with me and I fell deep into alcohol addiction and depression. I had to make some massive life changes and have had some ongoing problems with drugs.

I am mostly stable now, apart from some lingering depression. However, at this point in time it is too late to save my classes. I will probably fail 3 out of 5 of my classes.

We're about to hit summer, so unless I enroll in summer classes I won't have any until early March next year.

For the summer my plan is to get some employment or do an engineering internship, maybe play some sport, meet new people and in general, just work on myself and pulling myself out of the last of depression and drug addiction. Summer classes are also an option.

From there I could just carry on with my current course, but due to failing classes it will take me an extra year to graduate. I don't really enjoy the majority of the course content and I believe that its menial nature contributed to some of my problems.