• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Where is the fentanyl COMING from? And why is there so much of it?

Querencia

Greenlighter
Dear Bluelighters,

I'm a journalist who usually works with First Nations communities in Canada. I've also been a street-outreach worker with homeless folks in Montreal for nearly seven years. Plus I've got a long relationship with harm reduction ideas and I've helped friends in Ottawa campaign for the Safer Consumption Sites there (like Insite in Vancouver, but also with clean crack pipes to spread bloodborne illness through cracked lips and sores).

Even the mainstream media has been reporting on the flood of fentanyl now for a while. Because of my outreach work I know enough users on the street to know that I haven't yet met a single person who's HAPPY to buy fentanyl, especially when they're expecting oxy, dilaudid, or heroin. I'm not an opiate user and never have been but I've been told multiple times that the fentanyl high is terrible, nothing like the buzz you get from a decent pill or a bag of dope, plus if you dose wrong it kills you. We had a string of ODs two junes ago, including nine dead in that month, and I suspect some of the people I haven't seen at the outreach since then probably fell to the fucking stuff.

So here's my question: I presume no one WANTS to buy fentanyl when they buy a pill or bag (you can correct me if I'm wrong, as I may well be). That makes me presume that people producing the drugs have a bunch of fentanyl they have easy access to. What I want to know is: where are they getting it? Why is there so much of it?